UNCF will Host Virtual Walk Fundraiser to Support HBCUs

The United Negro College Fund (UNCF ) will be hosting a digital fundraiser this Saturday to support  historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and their students, according to a UNCF press release.

The UNCF National Virtual Walk for Education – set for 2 p.m. EDT/1p.m. CDT/11 a.m. PDT on Sept. 19 – “will engage participants in activities to walk, run, cycle and dance safely—all while having fun and still raising money for UNCF.”

Dr. Michael L. Lomax

Grammy Award-winning singer Anthony Hamilton and Questlove will perform. The event will include appearances  by actress Lynn Whitfield, comedian Jonathan Slocumb and Wendell Pierce.

Dr. Billy Hawkins, president of Talladega College – the oldest HBCU in Alabama – will deliver remarks. Miss National UNCF Alia Scott, Wiley College; student Brionna McGhee, Xavier University; and alumna Velvet Gunn, Lane College, will speak at the event.

“During an unprecedented time in our history compounded by COVID-19 and racial disparities, our students and institutions are faced with enormous challenges now more than ever,” said Dr. Michael L. Lomax, UNCF president and CEO. “We are at risk of washing away a generation of talented and deserving African American and minority students. We need as many donations as possible right now because the students we help now will be our next generation of doctors, nurses, biologists, virologists, epidemiologists—the pandemic frontliners of the future.”

Read more: https://diverseeducation.com/article/190305/


National Weather

Click on map for forecast

advertisement

advertisement